4 point inspection

4 Point insurance inspection

4 point insurance inspection

What is a 4 Point Insurance Inspection?

A 4-Point Inspection is often a requirement when obtaining a new homeowners insurance policy or renewing an existing policy.

A 4 point insurance inspection only concentrates on key items in which the insurance companies are interested in.

  • HVAC (Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning)
  • Electrical wiring and panels
  • Plumbing connections and fixtures
  • Roof

The intent of the inspection is to determine the components, general condition, and age of these systems.

Why do I need a four point inspection?

Insurance companies have become increasingly hesitant to issue Homeowner Insurance Policies on older homes (usually between 20 – 25 years old or more).

Their statistics have shown that homes over 25 years of age have more claims than newer homes. The claims are usually due to deteriorated condition of the older home.The four areas are Roof, HVAC, Plumbing and Roof.

If these elements are in poor condition, in need of being updated or replaced or were improperly installed, they may fail and cause fire or water damage to a home.
Newer homes are assumed (by the insurance companies) to not have these problems as frequently as older homes.

Therefore, you required to get a 4 point insurance inspection
to obtain homeowners insurance.

The insurance company will typically require that the inspections be performed by a suitably licensed and qualified persons. All of our 4-Point inspections are performed by a Florida State licensed Home Inspector.

Note: This type of insurance inspection should not be confused with a “standard home inspection” which is broader in scope and detail.